Beaumont Leys



Useful Links

Science

Beaumont Leys Science Faculty

Curriculum Intent

At Beaumont Leys School we develop scientific curiosity, knowledge and scientific skills by encouraging students to ask questions about the world around them. Science means to investigate, discover and justify. We explore how these skills help develop ideas by experimentation. Our goal is to enable all of our students to develop an understanding of how the world works and our responsibilities towards it. All of this being aimed at the development of our students Scientific Cultural Capital. We believe in Teaching to the Top and that every student should be provided with the same opportunities to succeed.

We have built strong links with the National Space Academy, based at the National Space Centre, where students have been provided with the opportunities to attend bespoke Masterclasses aimed at KS3 and KS4 students. During the school week we provide a KS3 STEM Science club and a separate Astronomy club. Over the years we have invited many established businesses into the school to discuss possible career avenues that may be suitable for our students. Our Science week coincides with British Science week and offers many different activities for students to try.

Students will follow a 5 year journey which follows the AQA syllabus which is developed from the National Curriculum. As students move from Years 7 to 11 they will build upon the knowledge that has been gained from the previous years and extend it further into new ideas and innovations that are presented on a daily basis.

We provide a two year KS3 curriculum which then leads into a three year GCSE Curriculum. At Beaumont Leys we follow the AQA examination board and offer the following courses:

Double Award (2 GCSE’s): GCSE Combined Science: Trilogy

Triple Science Award (3 GCSE’s): GCSE Biology, GCSE Chemistry, GCSE Physics


KS3 Assessment @ BLS Science

Students are assessed at the end of every KS3 module. It is is split into 4 sections. The level of challenge builds as students’ progress throughout the assessment.


KS4 Assessment @ BLS Science

At the end of every KS4 module is an Assessment. Students are assessed against the specification points from the AQA GCSE Syllabus which relate to that module. The questions become more challenging as they progress through the assessment and are designed to incorporate the GCSE exam style questions they will experience at the end of the course.

Throughout the GCSE curriculum the students will also be given Mock examinations which are designed to recap on prior content from previous elements of the course. They are designed to build confidence and develop their exam technique.


End of Key Stage 4 Assessments

Combined Science Trilogy

Six papers: two Biology, two Chemistry and two Physics. Each will assess different topics.

Duration: all the papers are 1 hour 15 minutes.

Tiers: Foundation and Higher.

Weighting: the papers are equally weighted. Each is worth 16.7% of the grade and has 70 marks.

Question types: multiple choice, structured, closed, short answer and open response.

Biology, Chemistry and Physics (Separate courses which comprise Triple science)

There are two papers for each Science course: each paper will assess knowledge and understanding from different topics. Duration: Each paper is 1 hour 45 minutes.

Tier: Foundation and Higher.

Weighting: the papers are equally weighted. Each is worth 50% of the grade and has 100 marks available.

Question types: multiple choice, structured


Facilities:

The Science department has seven well-resourced laboratories, each equipped with an interactive whiteboard.  In addition we have several Science preparation/resource rooms and a Science office for staff which is a supportive working environment.  We have access to a number of computer rooms, a class set of laptops and ipads. 


KS4

List web links to useful documents – specification, past papers, revision sites etc.

Teaching team:

Teacher

Roles

Contact Email

Mr Pabla

Faculty Team Leader of Science

JPabla@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Booth

Deputy Faculty Team Leader of Science

JBooth@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Simpson

Lead Teacher of Science

JSimpson@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Wigston

Science Teacher

AWigston@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Fitzgerald

 Science Teacher

RFitzgerald@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Chohan

 Science Teacher

KChohan@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Ms Stewart

 Science Teacher

CStewart@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Lakin

 Science Teacher

CLakin@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Knott

 Science Teacher

MKnott@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Chawda

 Science Teacher

AChawda@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Whitaker

 Associate Assistant Headteacher

MWhitaker@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Yusuf

 

RYusuf@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Hargreaves

KHargreaves@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Bailey

 Science Tutor

GBailiey@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk