Beaumont Leys



Useful Links

Mathematics

Curriculum time:

 

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Year 10

Year 11

Lessons a week

3

4

4

4

5

Teaching team:

Teacher

Roles

Contact Email

Mr Thakrar

Assistant Principal

KThakrar@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Bartnick

Faculty Team Leader

JBartnick@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Parmar

Deputy Faculty Team Leader

DParmar@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Dillon

Assistant Faculty Team Leader

BDillon@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Patel

Assistant Faculty Team Leader

NPatel@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Sahu

KS2 Transition Teacher

JSahu@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Munroe

Teacher

DMunroe@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Drew

Teacher

JDrew@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Dewick

NQT

RDewick@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Whelband

NQT

DWhelband@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Hodgkin

NQT

EHodgkin@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Facilities:

8 dedicated Maths classrooms, all equipped with a Smart Boards, visualizer and a wide range of interactive software. 2 class sets of laptops and 1 class set of IPads.

KS3 Curriculum

Year 7

Year 8

Place Value

Rounding

Estimation

The 4 operations including decimals

Perimeter and Area

Multiples and Factors

Laws of Indices

Angles

Fractions, Decimals and Percentages

Order of Operations

Substitution

Collecting Like Terms

Simplifying expressions

Sequences

 

 

The 4 operations – written methods

Multiples and Factors

Square and Cube Numbers

Laws of Indices

Venn Diagrams

Fractions

Negative Numbers

Order of Operations

Algebraic Expressions

Substitution

Collecting Like Terms

Expanding Brackets

Solving Equations

Sequences (Linear and Quadratic)

Angles

Construction

Perimeter and Area

Ratio

Circles

Volume           

Nets

Questionnaires

Collecting Data

Averages

Charts and Graphs

KS3 Assessment (Years 7 and 8)

Year 7 students are assessed on entry using a Baseline assessment. This result, combined with their KS2 SAT score enable us to set into ability groups.

All students complete a topic specific test at the end of half terms 1, 3 and 5; a termly test (written by AQA) at the end of half terms 2 and 4 and a 2 paper test (written by AQA) at the end of the year.

KS4

All students complete the AQA Maths GCSE (8300). We also offer the AQA Entry Level Certificate (5930) and the AQA Level 2 Further Mathematics (8360).

All specifications and course details can be found at www.aqa.org.uk

The assessment structure of the 3 qualifications is as follows:

Qualification

Maths GCSE

Entry Level Certificate

Level 2 Further Mathematics

Tier of Entry

Foundation and Higher

One tier only

One Tier Only

Tier details

Foundation is graded 1 to 5

Higher is graded 4 to 9 (a 3 is available)

Grades awarded: Levels 1, 2 and 3.

Grades awarded:

A distinction to C.

Assessment criteria

Three 90 minute exam papers each worth 80 marks.

Paper 1is non-calculator

Papers 2 and 3 are both calculator allowed

Eight 45 minute controlled assessment papers must be completed in school between September and January.

2 exam papers;

Paper 1 is 90 minutes and is non-calculator.

Paper 2 is 120 minutes and allows the use of a calculator.

KS4 topics covered

Foundation GCSE

Higher GCSE

Entry Level Certificate

Level 2 Further Mathematics

Number

Geometry

Algebra

Statistics

Ratio and Proportion

Probability

Number

Geometry

Algebra

Statistics

Ratio and Proportion

Probability

Types of Number

Order of Operations

Ratio

Money

The Calendar and Time

Measures

Geometry

Statistics

 

Number

Algebra

Co-ordinate Geometry

Calculus

Matrix Transformations

Geometry