Beaumont Leys



Useful Links

English

Curriculum time:

 

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Year 10

Year 11

Lessons a week

4 (6 for the low ability)

3

4

5 Moving to 4 next year

5

Teaching team:

Teacher

Roles

Contact e-mail

Mrs Simpson

HOF

rsimpson@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Ms Gamble

FTL

CGamble1@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Connell

AFTL

TConnell@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Reeves

AFTL

MReeves@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Nadolski

 

SNadolski@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Ms Livesley

 

SLivesley@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Hodgson

 

CHodgson1@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Umerji

 

AUmerji@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Bhogaita

 

RBhogaita@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Davison

 

WDavison@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Whittingham

 

SWhittingham@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Backhouse

 

DBackhouse@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Facilities:

We have many English Classrooms, as well as access to the library and computer rooms. We have class sets of lap tops and ipads.

KS3 Curriculum

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Class Novel: Room 13, Skellig or Private Peaceful

Media unit

Short stories through history

Introduction to Poetry

Literary Heritage: Gulliver’s Travels, Secret Garden, Treasure Island

 

Literary Heritage: Frankenstein, Jayne Eyre or Great Expectations.

Gothic Genre

Shakespeare, either The Tempest, or Twelfth Night.

Class Novel, Holes, Animal Farm or Stone Cold.

Class Novel:

Never Let Me Go, Hunger Games, Heroes or Pigeon English.

Darkness unit, including the study of Macbeth.

Poetry unit

Non- fiction unit, leading into GCSE study.

KS3 Assessment

From years 7 to 9, pupils follow a three year course that is designed to consolidate and develop the skills and knowledge they have acquired at primary school, and prepare pupils for the rigour of GCSE study.

At Beaumont leys

Students are assessed half termly, they are assessed across all strands of the English curriculum; focusing on either reading or writing skills at different points.

 

KS4

In years 10 and 11, pupils study for two GCSEs in English. The first, GCSE English Language, assesses their ability to read and analyse unseen texts, as well as their writing skills. The second, GCSE English Literature, involved the study of three literary texts and an anthology of poetry, and assesses their ability to analyse and express their opinion on character, plot and theme.

GCSE English Literature

Examination Board

AQA

Unit Content

Paper 1: Shakespeare and the 19th-century novel

Romeo and Juliet – William Shakespeare

A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

1 written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes

40% of GCSE

Paper 2: Modern texts and poetry

Blood Brothers  – W Russell

Pre-seen poetry from a selection chosen by AQA

Unseen poetry

1 written exam: 2 hour 15 minutes

60% of GCSE

 

GCSE English Language

Examination Board

AQA

Assessment

100% exam which consists of two separate papers sat in the summer of year 11.

Unit Content

Paper 1: Explorations in Creative Reading and Writing

Section A: Reading (questions based on one unseen literary text)

Section B: Writing (students respond to a choice of descriptive or narrative titles)

1 written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes

50% of GCSE

Paper 2: Writers’ Viewpoints and Perspectives

Section A: Reading (questions based on one non-fiction text and one literary non-fiction text)

Section B: Writing (students are required to present a viewpoint)

1 written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes

50% of GCSE

 

Web links to useful documents –

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english

http://www.englishbiz.co.uk/

https://www.bbc.co.uk/education/examspecs/zcbchv4

http://www.revisioncentre.co.uk/gcse/english/