Beaumont Leys



Useful Links

Competency Curriculum

Curriculum time:

 

Year 7

Lessons a week

3

Teaching team:

Teacher

Roles

Contact Email

Miss Trolley

Competency Curriculum Leader

ltrolley@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Ms Staley

Asst. Head Teacher & CC Teacher

pstaley@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Smith

ICT & Business FTL & CC Teacher

asmith@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Reeves

English AFTL & CC Teacher

mreeves@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Hodgson

English DFTL & CC Teacher

chodgson@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Sahu

Maths & CC Teacher

jsahu@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

KS3 Curriculum

Year 7

Competency Curriculum has been designed to explicitly teach the competencies that students require to become successful learners in all subjects.  It also reinforces key BLS messages and behaviours and has been designed to support a successful transition from KS2.

Year 7 students will learn about the following areas of competency: Planning, Adapting, Working with and from others, Thinking, Investigating resources and Understanding yourself as a learner. 

This is achieved through the following modules:

. Responsibility

. Multiple Intelligences

. Target setting

. Careers

. Communication

. Refugees

. Humanitarianism

. Basic ICT

. Endangered Species

. Famous people

KS3 Assessment

Students are not formally assessed in Competency Curriculum.  There will be ongoing pieces of work and homework that will be marked and evaluated by the teacher.  From this, students will regularly make improvements and therefore make progress.